MATTHEW CONNOR ADVENTURE SERIES

My Inspiration for Writing Action-Adventure Novels

More than three years ago, I set out to write my first action-adventure novel, City of Gold. NOW 1As I had been solely a mystery author at that time, it proved to be an interesting, yet rewarding, challenge. After all, whodunits are grounded in reality and governed by police procedure and science, and adventures, especially ones with historical and mythological elements, are not an everyday reality for most people. Besides, if something is legend and we don’t know anything real about it, it requires a different kind of creative process. So when it came to writing about the Incas’ lost City of Gold, I felt like in order to write about it, I had to find it and see it in person! I was ready to board a plane to South America and find the place myself!

But fueled by a compulsion and inspiration, I trudged outside my comfort zone. I wanted to give my mystery readers an action-adventure story they’d love. To achieve this, though, I had to ensure that the book started out strong, pulling the reader right into the action and jumping into the conflict, rather than taking the time to set up the historical background of the adventure itself. Instead, the story needed to be fun and fast-paced from the beginning, not weighed down with too much backstory or smacking of a textbook; any facts or recorded myths were to be sprinkled in as needed. Really, I wanted to create something more in the vein of a twenty-first-century Indiana Jones—and according to reviewers, I have succeeded in that. It was with these things in mind that City of Gold—and the Matthew Connor Adventure series—was born.

NOW 2It is my pleasure to announce that there is now a second book available in the series! Archaeologist and adventurer Matthew Connor and his friends are driven by the desire to uncover legends the world has all but forgotten, and this time, they are on the hunt for the mythical Emerald Tablets to save the world in The Secret of the Lost Pharaoh. Now that right there spells adventure!

If treasure hunting or the thought of traveling the globe to explore remote regions excites you, this is the series for you. You don’t even have to deal with flight delays, packing, or obtaining a passport to share in the action. So what are you waiting for? Strap yourself in for an adventure today!

Carolyn Arnold

 

 

City of Gold
Matthew Connor Adventure Series, Book 1
by Carolyn Arnold
Genre: Action, Adventure
Finding the Incas’ lost City of Gold would be the discovery of a lifetime.
But failing could mean her death…
Archaeologist Matthew Connor and his friends Cal and Robyn are finally home after a
dangerous retrieval expedition in India. While they succeeded in
obtaining the priceless Pandu artifact they sought, it almost cost
them their lives. Still, Matthew is ready for the next adventure. Yet
when new intel surfaces indicating the possible location of the
legendary City of Gold, Matthew is hesitant to embark on the quest.
Not only is the evidence questionable but it means looking for the lost
city of Paititi far away from where other explorers have concentrated
their efforts. As appealing as making the discovery would be, it’s
just too risky. But when Cal’s girlfriend, Sophie, is abducted by
Matthew’s old nemesis who is dead-set on acquiring the Pandu
statue, Matthew may be forced into action. Saving Sophie’s life
means either breaking into the Royal Ontario Museum to steal the
relic or offering up something no one in his or her right mind would
refuse—the City of Gold.
Now Matthew and his two closest friends have to find a city and a
treasure that have been lost for centuries. And they only have seven
days to do it. As they race against the clock, they quickly discover
that the streets they seek aren’t actually paved with gold, but
with blood.
What to expect from the Matthew Connor Adventure series:
Action-adventure books for the mystery lover.
Does treasure hunting
excite you? What about the thought of traveling the globe and
exploring remote regions to uncover legends that the world has all
but forgotten? If so, strap yourself in for an adventure with
modern-day archaeologist Matthew Connor and his two closest friends.
Indiana Jones meets the twenty-first century.
This is the perfect book series for fans of Indiana Jones, Lara
Croft
, National Treasure, and The Relic Hunter.
Read in any order or follow the series from the beginning.
The Secret of the Lost Pharaoh
Matthew Connor Adventure Series, Book 2
In Egypt’s Western Desert lies the tomb of an unnamed pharaoh that
hides a secret so powerful, it could destroy the world as we know it.

Archaeologist and adventurer Matthew Connor has made a career of finding legends
the world has all but forgotten. Though there’s one in particular that has fascinated
him for years—the Emerald Tablets. Myth says that they possess the
knowledge of the universe, allowing humankind to traverse Heaven and
Earth, and have the power to bestow wealth and wisdom upon whoever
possesses them. But if they fall into evil hands, it could cause a
global disaster.
So when a former colleague stumbles across
an ancient Egyptian hieroglyphic map that promises to lead to a pharaoh’s tomb
and the Emerald Tablets, there’s no way he’s turning down herinvitation to join the dig.
He only has one stipulation: his best friends Robyn Garcia and Cal Myers come with him.

The road ahead isn’t going to be an easy one, and their shared dream of
recovering the Emerald Tablets is being crushed at every turn. And
just when they think it’s all over, they learn there are a few
clues they have overlooked. But they’re no longer the only ones
searching for the Tablets. Now, the fate of the world hangs in the
balance, and soon they’ll find out that when it comes to hunting
legends, they can’t trust anyone.

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as
well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four
continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher
FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has
written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers
everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to
action adventures.
Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by
those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading
her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW
ENFORCEMENT™.
Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she
also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted
by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her
stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her
books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.
She currently lives in London, Ontario with her husband and beagles and
is a member of Crime Writers of Canada and Sisters in Crime.
Follow the tour HERE
for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s