via Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – Buy a Book for Christmas -#Historical #WWII – Mary Adler, M.C.V. Egan, Paulette Mahurin and Marina Osipova

….

During these devastating years there were a number of mysteries that have still to be solved and one such event took place in 1939. The next book today, The Bridge of Deaths, is by M.C.V. Egan (Catalina Egan) and has a very personal connection to her family.

518btsod9l-_uy250_About the book

On August 15th, 1939, an English passenger plane from British Airways Ltd. crashed in Danish waters between the towns of Nykobing Falster and Vordingborg. There were five casualties reported and one survivor. Just two weeks before, Hitler invaded Poland. With the world at the brink of war, the manner in which this incident was investigated left much open to doubt.

The jurisdiction battle between the two towns and the newly formed Danish secret police created an atmosphere of intrigue and distrust. The Bridge of Deaths is a love story and a mystery. Fictional characters travel through the world of past life regressions and information acquired from psychics as well as archives and historical sources to solve “one of those mysteries that never get solved.”

Based on true events and real people, The Bridge of Deaths is the culmination of 18 years of sifting through conventional and unconventional sources in Denmark, England, Mexico and the United States. The story finds a way to help the reader feel that s/he is also sifting through data and forming their own conclusions. Cross The Bridge of Deaths into 1939, and dive into cold Danish waters to uncover the secrets of the G-AESY.

One of the reviews for the book

Bridge of Deaths a compelling account of WW2 mystery This is a well-documented, detailed and compelling account of the deaths of five men on the eve of World War 2 and of the individuals driven by personal relationships and past-life regression to find the truth behind their passing. What makes the story especially fascinating is the suggestion that the men, one of whom was a British member of parliament on his way to a mysterious meeting focused on averting war, were deliberately murdered to prevent the MP from attending that meeting. The remaining men, one of whom was a Mexican businessmen and the author’s grandfather, were simply collateral damage. Although I don’t buy into past life regression or the validity of psychics, this book provided convincing arguments for the evidence presented by practitioners of these arts. Egan has done an impressive job of combining extensive archival research and psychic and past-life regression findings to create a fascinating book about the period predating World War 2.

Read the reviews and buy the bookhttps://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00MR8OY1O

and on Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Bridge-Deaths-Revised-Story-Mystery-ebook/dp/B00MR8OY1O

Also by M.C.V.Egan

 

Read all the reviews and BUY the books: https://www.amazon.com/M.C.V.-Egan/e/B0069W9NY2

And on Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/M.C.V.-Egan/e/B0069W9NY2

Read more reviews and follow M.C.V Egan on Goodreads:https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5004249.M_C_V_Egan

61axflh-oml-_ux250_Connect to M.C.V. Egan via her website: http://thebridgeofdeaths.com/

DEATH & DAMAGES a Mystery and Thriller Collection

Danger lurks around every corner as these courageous cops, adventurous agents, and daring detectives hunt for the answers to stop the crimes by vicious killers.

But what if the damage is already done?

 Inside these pages, you’ll find 25 adventures full of captivating conundrums, hair-raising homicides, and suspenseful secrets from today’s USA Today & Wall Street Journal bestselling and award-winning authors.

Become a private investigator yourself when you inspect plots of deadly assassins, cold-blooded killers, and bone-chilling suspense inside the pages of DEATH AND DAMAGES, an enthralling mystery and thriller boxed set.

 Fans of Lee Child, James Patterson, Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Grisham will devour these puzzling, mysteries and gripping thrillers.

Buy on Amazon

With stories from
Patricia Loofbourrow      Pauline Creeden    John Ling      Alexa Padgett    Siera London      Shereen Vedam    Deborah Shlian      Kelly Hashway   Maggie Carpenter      Tiana Laveen   Angela Sanders       Karen M. Bryson    Aime Austin     Lisa B. Thomas    Fiona Quinn     Kerry J. Donovan    Jane Blythe     Dan Alatorre    Muffy Wilson     Dariel Raye    Ja’Nese Dixon     Terry Keys    Bill Hargenrader    Judith Lucci    Maria Grazia Swan

 

The Purple Haze (The Western Lands and All That Really Matters Book 1)

Being a princess is hard. Especially when you’re just a little OCD.

And your twin goes missing.

Sure, Princess Eloise is Future Ruler and Heir to the Western Lands and All That Really Matters. And yes, her life is structured by Protocol and full of little “habits” that help her get through the day.

But none of that matters when her twin sister disappears.

Eloise has to suck it up to try and get her back.

She sets out with her champion (a nervous, yammering chipmunk), her guard (the human incarnation of rectitude), and two horses (one an equine perfection, the other on a vow of silence). Like a kind of fantasy-world Gilligan’s Island meets Discworld, a quick little two-day jaunt turns into traipsing across realms. sniffing out a trail that is getting colder by the minute.

The Purple Haze is a humorous novel set in a world of weak magic, talking animals, and wäÿ töö mänÿ ümläüts. If you like quirky, clever characters, lively dialog, and fun, ripping yarns, then you’ll love this fabulous debut novel from Andrew Einspruch.

Get The Purple Haze today and dive into the freshest fantasy series in years. ON Sale for $.99

 

The Star of Whatever (The Western Lands and All That Really Matters Book 2)

The slightly OCD princess was doing just fine, thanks.

REIGN DROPS

A simple Mayan girl. A powerful spirit. A bloodthirsty monster. All leading to a desperate quest.
When the Mayan calendar ended some people scoffed while others joked and a few waited for the end of the world. After living half her life apart from her native people, Dalia no longer believes in the supernatural and monstrous things that the final cycle predicted.
But unbelief is not protection.
Going home draws her into a fight against mythical creatures, limitless power and a battle for humanity’s survival. Can Dalia balance an outsider’s knowledge and tribal wisdom to give the world a fighting chance? Or will she choose to stay blind and let the world collapse around her?

Reign Drops the running start to launch The Bloodborne Series, a saga of urban fantasy novels. If you like tenacious heroines, Mayan legends, and new twists on magical beasts, then get this book today!

Buy on Amazon / iTunes/ Kobo

Enter to win!

 

FRIDAY NOVEMBER 16, 2018

 

Join us for an Entertaining Talk and Cocktail Party to launch

The Yiddish Gangster’s Daughter

7-8 p.m., Friday, November 16, at Murder on the Beach Mystery Book Store  273 Pineapple Grove Way, Delray Beach.

Deborah Shlian will also discuss her award-winning medical suspense,

Silent Survivor.Refreshments and a chance to support the arts!

(click on book to order)

AND NOW FOR SOMETHING COMPLETELY HYSTERICAL

A  belly-laugh worthy video. The fellow in this Ted talk does what we’d all love to do when a Nigerian businessman asks for money.  (thanks to Jenny Milchman, an amazing writer). It’s worth watching at least briefly.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_QdPW8JrYzQ

THE CORRUPT JUDGES

Halloween is my favorite holiday and I couldn’t pass up the chance to dress up and act like my gangster character for this Halloween party and talk at Murder on the Beach Mystery Book Store October 31. Joanne Sinchuk manager, (right) as RBG with a lace collar and Susan Biele with a paper doily from Publix.

In Which a Jewish Mother Brainwashes Her Son
and His Wife to Love Hanukkah
Here’s my Hanukkah present to those of you whose children have married outside the faith. Yes, you can get them to carry on the traditions that make the Celebration of Lights so special. But it takes a lot of effort. And a little luck.When my son married a woman born in mainland China, I thought I’d dodged a bullet. That country discourages religious affiliations and her parents saw no point in joining a church once they moved to the U.S.  That worked out well for me — sort of.  I wasn’t competing over which religion the kids would practice. But my son and daughter-in-law saw no reason to embrace the rituals or beliefs of Judaism . . . or any other religion for that matter.So I set out on a mission to convince them otherwise. They live in New York and I live in Florida so I couldn’t be there for every holiday. But I did my darnedest to make the major holidays as fun and meaningful as possible.  On Yom Kippur, I’d fly up and prepare a traditional break-the-fast, even though neither of them fasted, and welcomed their friends to come over. It wasn’t an elaborate affair.  I brought in bagels and lox and eked out a noodle pudding in their miniature oven. But it made the holiday real.

Later in the year, when my son announced he’d picked up a pine tree and Christmas ornaments, I raced to the Judaica store and express mailed a menorah and candles. I also put together a package for my daughter-in-law—one gift for every day of Hanukkah.  Sure it was a bribe. But who cares? When I fly in for Hanukkah now, we light candles and sing songs.  And the ready-made latkes from Katz’s Delicatessen are a big hit.

Passover is my favorite holiday so I cram a Seder plate, a silver hand washing cup and a pile of coffee-stained Haggadahs into my carry-on bag.  One year, I found the ingredients for a Seder plate at Zabar’s and spent an hour and a half on the subway to get it. I was stunned by the number of young people who wanted to participate in our Seder that night.

I have no guarantees that celebrating these holidays means my son and his wife will continue to observe these Jewish traditions. But by making such rituals an important presence in their lives, I hope I’ve shown them what they’d be missing.  My daughter-in-law recently gave birth to twin boys and agreed to have a cantor officiate at their baby naming ceremony.  They also plan to send the boys to a Jewish preschool, claiming it offers the best education in their neighborhood.

My son argues that he’s raising the boys Jewish for me and his father.  I don’t believe him. I suspect he likes the idea of belonging to a unique tribe. He’s comfortable having a sense of identity that dates back multiple centuries. The couple socialize with Jewish, Indian and Asian friends and seem to find pleasure in sharing our rituals with all of them.  I can only hope they will continue to share these traditions with their own children.

Not that they have a choice. If they don’t, I’ll be up there, lighting candles and holding Seders with the grandchildren myself.

Smorgasbord Poetry – In Remembrance – Herbert James Francis Walsh- 1887 – 1918 – A Grandfather

Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

This time of year, I like to re-post the series The War Poets. Just some of the men and women who served on the front line on all sides of the conflict who fought, died or returned scarred by their experiences. If you scroll down the home page you will find them each day.

They went out at 4.a.m each morning my time, which is the coldest before the dawn, and as they would have woken in the trenches to prepare for another day of horror, bravery and sacrifice.

There is no way in the world that I would possibly compare my poetry to those extraordinary men and women who wrote their poetry following their own harrowing experiences. But I did want to add to the series with my own tribute to someone who lived and died during the First World War, and I this poem following my first visit…

View original post 615 more words