The Lost Princess of StoryThe Chronicles of Story Book 1by Suzanne de Planque Genre: Middle-Grade, YA Fantasy

The Lost Princess of Story
The Chronicles of Story Book 1
by Suzanne de Planque
Genre: Middle-Grade, YA Fantasy
“The magical land of Story meets Brooklyn in this unconventional fairytale reminiscent of Narnia…a masterpiece…” San Francisco Book Review
“…an epic, imaginative portal fantasy touched with welcoming whimsy…”
Publisher’s Weekly BookLife Reviews
Prince Charming grew up, became King, and married and murdered his way through six of the most famous fairytale princesses. Now the World of Story is torn by civil war, the Wall has been built, and the Doors closed.
Knights and princesses, heroes and magical creatures are refugees in Brooklyn, the place in this world most hospitable to magic. They thought they would be home soon.
Fifteen years later, Brooklyn girl Lilla is chafing at her guardian Gus’s strict rules. Why home school? Why can’t she walk two blocks without a chaperone? And why won’t Gus answer questions about her parents?
Lilla escapes the rules in her beloved books. She is convinced she can find a way to the worlds between the pages.
She is right. Everyone around her has kept one giant secret. Magic is real. On both sides of the Wall, in Story and in Brooklyn.
Can Lilla find the Door that will take her to Story, the World that knows her wildest wishes and her deepest hidden damage, where reward is limitless and danger is beyond all she can dream?
MAGIC IS NOT BIRTHDAY CAKE WISHES. MAGIC IS POWER AND TRANSFORMATION.
FIND THE DOOR.
The Lost Princess of story is YA crossover. All ages book of multigenerational urban fantasy/portal fiction/ retold fairy tale with a Tudor twist. LGBT+ characters.
Recommended for readers of Seanan McGuire’s Wandering Children series, Lev Grossman’s The Magicians series, Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood, Hafsah Faizal’s We Hunt the Flame, and books by Gregory Maguire and Terry Pratchett.
Reviews
“The magical land of Story meets Brooklyn in this unconventional fairy tale reminiscent of Narnia. Exciting action, fun (and sometimes messy) adventures, and of course, wondrous magic awaits readers as the fine line between fantasy and reality is explored. An homage to refugees who find themselves in a world harsher than what they have left behind, The Lost Princess of Story is a masterpiece that is representative of the real-world issues we face today.”
-San Francisco Book Review
“The sweeping first volume of de Planque’s Chronicles of Story, created as a ‘valentine to children’s literature and fantasy‘, invites readers to sink into an epic, imaginative portal fantasy touched with welcoming whimsy…There’s amusing banter, an adorable and hungry teacup-sized dragon, and an enthusiastic narrator given to wordplay and allegory… Lovers of fairytales and epic adventures will enjoy this dangerous quest filled with loveable heroes and magical creatures.” A grade.
-Publisher’s Weekly BookLife Reviews
“Author Suzanne de Planque weaves a marvelous new world for fairy tale and high-fantasy lovers alike. This endlessly creative novel is an immersive new chapter to the fairy tales we’ve known for generations. The narrative voice is charming, and there are continuously smart turns of phrase and plays on words. A tremendous creative achievement, The Lost Princess of Story will thrill anyone who has ever fallen in love with a story.” ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 1/2
-Self Publishing Review
“… a great read, with subtle nods to fairy tales and more current fantasy fiction… carefully skewers and pays tribute to how fantasy tales work... Recommended for readers who prefer works by Gregory Maguire, Terry Pratchett, and works such as Ella Enchanted.”⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
-LibraryThing
Suzanne de Planque is a writer, actor, and a stay-at-home mom.
Theatrical credits include off-Broadway and other New York, regional, and tours; everything from Shakespeare to Sondheim. A few highlights from her years in the theatre include enacting what must be
every Grimm’s fairytale in her years as the self-proclaimed Queen of Children’s Theater, playing cut-rate Disney princesses at birthday parties, inspiring a generation of high school students as the DON’T examples in a series of job-seeking educational videos, and breaking her neck falling out of a giant teapot dressed as the Dormouse.
The latter resulted in a career change to playwriting, and a healthy respect for teacups. Her plays have been commissioned and performed in New York and regionally. This is her first novel.
She lives in a little white house in Brooklyn with her husband and son, an impressive array of costumes, swords, and Original Broadway Cast albums, and a world-class collection of children’s books. She is an avid collector of antique and vintage children’s literature and a fan of literary
tourism in person and on Pinterest. She has never passed a wardrobe without checking, just in case.
Follow the tour HERE for special content and a giveaway!
Win one of three Swag Packs!
LILLA—THE READER
$100 Amazon gift card
Lost Princess of Story t shirt
Lilla t shirt (Book theme)
Large stuffed Tickey Ding (the mini dragon character in Story)
Coat of arms personally created for you by the Royal Designer of Story (book illustrator), suitable for framing
More reader and Story swag
SOPHIE—THE PRINCESS
$50 Amazon gift card
Lost Princess of Story t shirt
Sophie t shirt (This Princess Saves Herself) I
Medium stuffed Tickey Ding
Coat of arms personally created for you by the Royal Designer of Story (book illustrator), suitable for framing
More princess and Story swag
JAMIE—THE KNIGHT
$25 Amazon gift card
Lost Princess of Story t shirt
Jamie t shirt (Knight in Shining T Shirt)
Small stuffed Tickey Ding
Coat of arms personally created for you by the Royal Designer of Story (book designer), suitable for framing
More knight and Story swag

2 thoughts on “The Lost Princess of StoryThe Chronicles of Story Book 1by Suzanne de Planque Genre: Middle-Grade, YA Fantasy

  1. Thank you for hosting The Lost Princess of Story and it’s giveaway at Defining Ways. One of the great things about doing a book blog tour is getting to discover great blogs! Lost Princess is on two Top 100 category lists on Amazon. It’s been a #1 Hot New Release in category 3 times. Get your copy today—special series launch price just $2.99 ebook. FREE Kindle Unlimited. 15.99 paperback.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds like an awesome book to share with my grandchildren. Thank you for sharing the book and author details.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s